APN News

  • Wednesday, March, 2020| Today's Market | Current Time: 03:28:34
  • 17th CavinKare Ability Awards 2019 honors five exemplary achievers with disabilities from across the country

    Published on February 25, 2019

    Chennai : In an effort to recognize and spotlight the achievements of some amazing persons with disabilities, CavinKare and Ability Foundation jointly organized the 17thedition of the CavinKare Ability Awards in the city today. Held at Sir Mutha Venkatasubba Rao Auditorium, the awards function showcased exemplary success of five people with disabilities from across the country. The event was attended by stalwarts from diverse walks of life and the esteemed panel of jury.

    The members of jury this year were Dr.  Mariazeena Johnson, Pro Chancellor, Sathyabama Institute of Science & Technology; Dr Vinod Surana, CEO & Managing Director Surana & Surana International Attorneys; Mr. Abhaya Srisrimal Jain, Chairman, LifeCell International Pvt Ltd; Mr Rajiv C Lochan, MD & CEO, The Hindu group; Mr. Radhamohan, film maker; Ms Latha Krishna, Executive Director, Krishnaswamy Associates.

    Challenging status quo, thesefivestar achievers of this year, set an inspiring mood for the evening with their power packed deeds and speech. Enthralling the audience with their boundless energy and confidence, the outstanding awardees shared their life journey vividly. The evening ended on a high-note with both the recipients of the awards as well as the audience leaving as inspired and empowered individuals.

    The cultural highlight of the evening was the piano performance by Nithila, a student of Sri Surojeet Chatterji of A. R Rahman’s K.M. Music Conservatory.  A person with disability herself, it is also a point to be made that her disability is of little consequence and has not stood in the way of her dreams and aspirations.

    This one-of-its’s-kind national level award conceived and curated by Mr. C.K Ranganathan, CMD, CavinKare Pvt Ltd and Ms. Jayshree Raveendran, Founder & Hon. Executive Director, Ability Foundation, to showcase the latent talents of people with disabilities and dispel stereotypes. The nomination process for the award begins as early as 3 months ahead of the event through announcements in all national media and through sister organizations.  The nominations thus received are meticulously screened and shortlisted, based on the awardees’ difficulty levels, triumph over adversity and uniqueness of the task accomplished.

    Commenting on the occasion, Mr. CK Ranganathan, Chairman and Managing Director – CavinKare said, “Today as we step into a new year of Ability Awards, bringing into limelight five more achievers our hearts are filled with pride and happiness. This award over the years has become a landmark for grit, courage and desire to achieve great heights by overcoming barriers steadily. We are happy to be celebrating the positive spirit of these achievers and hope to inspire many through them.”

    In its 17 year journey, the CavinKare Ability Awards has recognized admirable achievements of people with disabilities. Over 65 awardees have stood testimony for breaking stereotypes and challenging the mindset of the society towards disability.

    Said Ms. Jayshree Raveendran, Founder & Honorary Executive Director, Ability Foundation,“Way back in 2003, when we brought out the first edition of the Awards, I remember saying that there are more role models among persons with disabilities than anywhere else.  Today, seventeen years hence, I reaffirm and reiterate this statement. The kind of things we witness year after year, with each one of our recipients, has been nothing short of breathtaking and awe inspiring. And I am really proud and honoured to have played a role, however small, in bringing this to the fore and in furthering their path to success.”