APN News

  • Tuesday, January, 2021| Today's Market | Current Time: 01:20:28
  • BJP and its alliance win majority in Assam, TMC retains power in WB, AIADMK in TN, LDF wins in Kerala

    Published on May 19, 2016

    elections voting voteBJP and its alliance partners have won an absolute majority in Assam state assembly election.

    BJP has won 60 seats on its own in the 126 member house. Its ally AGP has won 14 seats while another ally BPF has bagged 12 seats.

    The party has thus made history by winning an assembly election in a north-eastern state.

    Congress has bagged 26 seats, AIUDF 13 and one seat has gone to an independent.

    BJP Chief Ministerial candidate Sarbananda Sonowal has won from Majuli seat, defeating his nearest rival by more than 18000 votes.

    Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi has won in Titabar, with a margin of over 15000 votes.

    Sarbananda Sonowal asserted that BJP and its alliance parties will work together for development of the state.

    He thanked the people of Assam, especially Majuli, for having faith in him and electing him to power.

    Outgoing Chief Minster Tarun Gogoi said he has accepted the verdict of the people.

    Talking to media in Guwahati, Gogoi said winning and losing is a part of democracy and the political system.

    He said big victory with a big margin for BJP only means that people are expecting great things from the new government.

    In West Bengal, the TMC has crossed the two-third mark by winning 203 seats in the 294 member assembly.

    Congress- Left combine has taken 73 seats while BJP has bagged three seats. Independents and others have won five seats.

    West Bengal Chief Minister and TMC Supremo, Mamta Banerjee has won from Bhabanipur Assembly Constituency.

    She defeated her nearest Congress rival Deepa Dasmunshi by over 25 thousand votes. West Bengal Speaker Biman Banerjee has won from Baruipur Paschim Constituency.

    In Tamil Nadu, AIADMK Chief J. Jayalalitha has made history by becoming the first Chief Minister in 32 years to be voted back to power.

    Her party bagged 125 seats out of 232 seats that went to polls. The opposition DMK has won 87 seats while Congress has bagged 9 segments and IUML one.

    Chief Minister Jayalalithaa has won Dr. RK Nagar constituency in Chennai.

    DMK Patriarch M. Karunanidhi has won for a record 13th time from his home turf of Tiruvarur defeating his nearest rival R.Panneerselvam of AIADMK.

    Addressing party workers,Jayalalithaa called the victory a historic one and vowed to strive for the people with renewed vigour. She said the verdict has put a permanent end to the family politics of DMK.

    Overwhelmed by the result, AIADMK workers burst crackers and distributed sweets.

    A large number of party workers thronged Jayalalithaa’s Poes Garden residence area and the party headquarters.

    In Kerala, the LDF has pushed the ruling UDF out of power by bagging 85 of the 140-seats.

    The UDF could bag only 46 seats. BJP has opened its account in the state by winning one seat. Eight results have gone in favour of others.