APN News

  • Wednesday, July, 2020| Today's Market | Current Time: 08:39:43
  • BJP govt gains majority as party wins 12 of 15 seats in K’taka by-polls

    Published on December 9, 2019

    The ruling BJP in Karnataka has registered an emphatic victory by winning 12 of the 15 seats in the by-election, thereby gaining the majority in the state legislative Assembly.

    The Congress could bag two seats and an Independent registered victory in one. JD(S) could not win a single seat in this election.

    Accepting responsibility for the dismal performance of the party, Congress leader Siddaramaiah resigned as the Legislature Party Leader in the Assembly. Dinesh Gundurao resigned as Karnataka Pradesh Congress President.

    Chief Minister of Karnataka BS Yediyurappa thanked people for voting for a stable government, assuring that he will strive for the development of the state.