APN News

  • Tuesday, January, 2021| Today's Market | Current Time: 12:46:27
  • Brisbane ODI: Sri Lanka makes a good start against India

    Published on February 21, 2012

    Brisbane  : Sri Lanka were 113 for no loss at the end of 24 overs in the in the tri-series ODI match against India in Brisbane on Tuesday.

    Openers Mahela Jayawardene scored 45 while T Dilshan made 51.

    Irfan Pathan and R Ashwin both taken one wicket each

    KC Sangakkara was batting on 5 while LD Chandimal was batting on 6 when report last came in.

    Earlier, Sri Lanka captain Mahela Jayawardene won the toss and elected to bat. India have made three changes to the side that lost to Australia in their previous match.

    Regular skipper MS Dhoni is out serving a one-match ban for slow over-rate, while Zaheer Khan and Rohit Sharma have been dropped for the game.

    Fit-again opener Virender Sehwag would be India’s stand-in skipper, while wicketkeeper Parthiv Patel and off-spinner R Ashwin have been included in the playing XI.

    Sri Lanka are unchanged for the match.

    Three points separate India (10) from Sri Lanka (7) and the latter would be trying their best to overtake their bigger neighbours in a battle of the subcontinent.


    India: Virender Sehwag (c), Gautam Gambhir, Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Parthiv Patel, Ravindra Jadeja, Irfan Pathan, Ravichandran Ashwin, Vinay Kumar and Umesh Yadav

    Sri Lanka: Mahela Jayawardene (c), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara, Dinesh Chandimal, Lahiru Thiramanne, Thisara Perera, Angelo Matthews, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Fervez Maharoof and Rangana Herath.

    Umpires: Billy Bowden (New Zealand) and Paul Reiffel (Aus)

    Third umpire: Steve Davis (Aus)

    Match referee: Chris Broad (Eng).