APN News

  • Tuesday, October, 2019| Today's Market | Current Time: 12:01:49
  • Campaigning for the sixth phase of Lok Sabha elections ended this evening. Fifty-nine constituencies, spread over seven states, will go to polls in this phase on Sunday.

    Voting will take place for 14 seats in Uttar Pradesh, 10 in Haryana, 8 seats each in West Bengal, Bihar and Madhya Pradesh, 7 in Delhi and 4 in Jharkhand. Star campaigners of various political parties held rallies and road shows in different parts of the country to woo the voters.

    In West Bengal, more than 15 thousand polling booths have been set up in 8 constituencies going to polls. Our Correspondent reports that security measures along Jharkhand and Odisha border has been tightened.

    In Bihar, electoral fortune of 127 candidates including 16 women will be decided in this phase. In Madhya Pradesh, eight constituencies will go to polls on Sunday.

    In Uttar Pradesh, all preparation for poll on Sunday are underway. Our correspondent reports that polling parties will be sent to polling centers tomorrow.

    Meanwhile, Campaigning is on for the 7th and last phase of Lok Sabha elections. 59 constituencies spread across eight states will go to polls on 19th May in the last phase. The states are: Uttar Pradesh ( 13 Lok Sabha seats),  West Bengal (9), Bihar ( 8), Jharkhand (3), Madhya Pradesh (8), Punjab (13), Chandigarh (1) and Himachal Pradesh (4).

    Addressing a rally at Paddal ground in Mandi district of Himachal Pradesh today, Senior BJP leader and Prime Minister Narendra Modi targeted the Congress over 1984 anti-Sikh-riots. Congress President Rahul Gandhi addressed a rally in Una of Himachal Pradesh.