APN News

  • Monday, March, 2020| Today's Market | Current Time: 05:21:18
  • Campaigning for MP and Mizoram Assembly elections ends this evening; Gains momentum in Rajasthan and Telangana

    Published on November 26, 2018

    Campaigning for the Madhya Pradesh and Mizoram Assembly elections ends this evening. The 230-member Madhya Pradesh Assembly and 40-member Mizoram Assembly will go to polls in a single phase on Wednesday. Top leaders of various political parties are addressing rallies at different places to win the voters.

    Our Bhopal correspondent takes a look at the campaigning scenario in Madhya Pradesh:

    Leaders of national as well as regional political parties are planning to make all-out efforts today to mark their place among voters with just few hours left for campaigning. All the political parties including the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the main opposition Congress fielded their top leaders in the campaign yesterday to woo the voters.

    Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Ministers Rajnath Singh, Smriti Irani, MP Hema Malini and many other senior party leaders have campaigned for the ruling party yesterday while Congress leader Navjot Singh Siddhu, Sachin Pilot, Kamalnath, Jyotiraditya Sindhiya had addressed rallies in the state on Sunday.

    Samajwadi Pary leader Akhilesh Yadav and Aam Aadmi Party leader Gopal Rai had also campaigned for their party candidates. A total of 2899 candidates, including 250 women are in the fray for the election of 230 seats of Madhya Pradesh Assembly.

    In Mizoram, amidst hectic campaigning, major parties are engaged in a war of words on various issues. Our Aizwal correspondent reports that around 7 lakh 70,000 voters will decide the political fate of 209 candidates.

    Meanwhile, electioneering has gained momentum in Rajasthan and Telangana. In Rajasthan, Prime Minister Narendra Modi will address rallies in Bhilwara, Dungarpur and Kota today, while Congress President Rahul Gandhi will launch his election campaign from Ajmer.

    Congress expelled its rebels leaders from the primary membership of the party for six years, for contesting against its official candidates in various constituencies in the election. The list includes a former a former Minister Mahadev Singh Khandela and nine former MLAs.

    In Telangana, BJP President Amit Shah and acting Chief Minister K. Chandrashekhar Rao were among the leaders who campaigned for their party candidates. Both Rajasthan and Telangana will go to polls in a single phase on the 7th of next month.

    While Rajasthan has a 200-member Assembly, Telangana has 119 constituencies. Counting of votes for all the five states – Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Mizoram, Rajasthan and Telangana – will be held on the 11th of next month.