APN News

  • Tuesday, April, 2024| Today's Market | Current Time: 03:51:56
  • Seven Cong MPs from Andhra Pradesh quit Parliament

    Upset over UPA government’s decision to create Telangana, seven Congress MPs from Andhra Pradesh quit Parliament on Friday. The MPs, who put in their papers, were A Sai Prathap (Rajampet constituency), Anantha Venkatarami Reddy (Anantapur) C V Harsha Kumar (Amalapuram-SC), Vundavalli Arun Kumar (Rajahmundry), Lagadapati Rajagopal (Vijayawada) and S P Y Reddy (Nandyal). While these […]

    Crucial Cong meeting on Telangana today

    Maintaining that a decision cannot be postponed “anymore”, senior Congress leader Digvijay Singh on Thursday said the crucial meeting of the Congress Core Group on Friday will discuss the Telangana issue with “both options open”-status quo or creation of a separate state. Singh, who is the general secretary in-charge for Andhra Pradesh, however, remained non-committal […]

    High Command may ask Chandy to step down as Kerala CM

    The Congress High Command is likely to replace Oommen Chandy as Kerala Chief Minister for  the party feels his continuation as chief minster  in the wake of  the new revelations from Sreedharan Nair could dampen the prospects of the party in the Lok Sabha polls due next year middle.  Mr Nair  had disclosed to the […]

    Opp shedding crocodile tears on parliamentary propriety: Tewari

    Scoffing at the criticism over government decision to bring an ordinance to implement the Food Security Bill, Union minister Manish Tewari has accused the Opposition of shedding “crocodile tears” over parliamentary propriety. “…It is indeed amusing that the ones who are shedding crocodile tears on propriety are also the ones who have acquired a Phd […]

    JMM and Congress close to govt formation in Jharkhand

    JMM and Congress close to government formation in Jharkhand and President’s rule in the state is set to expire on July 18 while there has been a mixed response by the political parties. Government has welcomed the ordinance saying that it aims to extend Food Security to 81 crore people of the country whereas Opposition […]

    BJP reviews its preparedness in run-up to Assembly elections

    Gujarat CM and BJP poll campaign committee Chief Narendra Modi and senior BJP leader L K Advani on Thursday attended a crucial meeting of the BJP’s parliamentary board which discussed the party’s strategy for 2014 general elections and for state assembly elections in five states. Advani and Modi shared the party platform for the first […]

    Congress announces support to Kanimozhi for RS

    Congress has decided to support its former ally DMK for the 27th June Rajya Sabha polls from Tamil Nadu, with its five MLAs all set to vote  for DMK nominee Kanimozhi. State Congress president B S Gnanadesikan said AICC General Secretary and party’s in-charge for Tamil Nadu Mukul Wasnik had informed him of the decision over […]

    Sonia asks Cong MPs, MLAs to donate 1 month salary

    Congress President Sonia Gandhi on Friday directed all party MPs and MLAs to donate their one month salary for relief work in the flood-ravaged Uttarakhand as the magnitude of the flash flood tragedy continued to unfold taking the death toll in the rain fury to 207. Gandhi also directed all party MPs from Lok Sabha […]

    Rift widens between JDU, BJP; efforts on to save alliance

    As the rift widened between JDU and BJP, JDU chief Sharad Yadav on Saturday said that the situation is difficult and efforts are on to sort it out. Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar also had termed the situation as difficult. Meanwhile, another senior leader of the party Shivanand Tiwari accused the BJP of forcing JDU […]

    Kanimozhi files nomination for RS polls

    DMK on Saturday renominated sitting MP M Kanimozhi, daughter of party president M Karunanidhi as its candidate for the June 27 Rajya Sabha elections for six seats, hoping to drum up support from other parties to ensure a second term for her. Kanimozhi, one of the accused in the 2G spectrum scam, that surfaced during […]