APN News

  • Wednesday, April, 2022| Today's Market | Current Time: 08:31:35
  • CavinKare-MMA celebrates innovative entrepreneurial ventures from across the country through the 10th Edition of Chinnikrishnan Innovation Awards

    Published on October 25, 2021

    ~Three exemplary small entrepreneurs for their path breaking innovations were honored with a cash award of Rs. One Lakh 

    Chennai: The 10th edition of Chinnikrishnan Innovation Awards 2021 was conferred upon three innovative entrepreneurial ventures from across the country today. The prestigious awards property brought to foray businesses that are set to propel impactful innovations and recognize exemplary small scale businesses on a national scale. Jointly established by FMCG major CavinKare and Madras Management Association (MMA), the awards honored exceptional entrepreneurs virtually for the second year in succession. The winners were awarded with a cash prize of Rs.1 lakh, and a trophy for their exceptional and impactful contributions.

    Established in 2011 in the fond memory of the Late Shri R Chinnikrishnan, and to honor his innovations that spearheaded the FMCG industry, the award has honored many small-scale firms for their innovative practices. Since its inception the award property has recognized 30 enterprising entrepreneurs across the Great Innovations and Great Ideas category. Now in its 10th year, the award property has scaled up the hunt for best of the best entrepreneurs, nationally. In addition to felicitating the winners, CavinKare mentors winners of the innovation awards in marketing, finance, design, packaging, R&D, and HR. The awards, now in its tenth edition, garnered an astounding response of over 132 entrants from all over India.

    Speaking on the occasion, CK Ranganathan – Chairman & Managing Director of CavinKare Pvt. Ltd said, “We are delighted to present the coveted Chinnikrishnan Innovation Awards nationally and to bring to light three exemplary innovators from across the country. As we mark the completion of ten successful years of celebrating innovation, innovators and the societal impact of each of these ventures, we are filled with a sense of fulfilment. The innovators from this year are promising finds who are set to take two of the strongest industries in India – Aquaculture and Healthcare to newer heights. The journey has been a rewarding experience and a true testimony for the spirit of innovation as we have brought to light 27 outstandinginnovators. Each of these innovators have truly transformed the entrepreneurial ecosystem to a great extent and have pushed boundaries. We are happy to have played a significant role in their journey and help them scale their businesses to the next level.”

    Adding to this, Mr C V Subba Rao, President MMA and MD, Sanmar Shipping Ltd stated “MMA is delighted to partner with CavinKare in hosting this prestigious award and also in identifying the prospective nominees for the award. Through sustained efforts to reach various organizations promoting innovation, and innovative social media strategy we could reach out to over 2,79,000 people. The entire process of the award including the jury meet was organized online”

    The call for nominations process received 132 applications from across the country, where the nominees were interviewed under various stringent guidelines streamlined by process advisor EY.  The distinguished panel of Jury that joined virtually from across the nation for this prestigious award were Mr Alok B Shriram – Joint Managing Director & Chief Executive officer, DCM Shriram Industries Ltd  – Jury Chief; Mr K Srinivasan  – Managing Director, Kirloskar Pneumatic Company Limited, Hadapsar Industrial Estate, Pune; Mr Mithun Sundar – Chief Transformation Officer, Microsoft India; Ms Mridula Ramesh – Executive Director, Sundaram Textiles, Cleantech Investor: Author of the Critically acclaimed “The Climate Solution”; Mr G V Anand Bhushan Director (Legal), Facebook.

    The following entrepreneurs were awarded for the 10th CavinKare-MMA Chinnikrishnan Innovation Awards 2021:

    1. Mr Rajamanohar Somasundaram of Coastal Aquaculture Research Institute Pvt Ltd for innovating Aquaconnect – an app which is an AI-powered mobile aqua-farm advisor that helps Shrimp farmers to get guidance from stocking to harvest.

    2. Ms Janani Venkatraman of Biomoneta Research Pvt Ltd, for innovating ZeBox – using revolutionary technology that makes any space free from all airborne pathogens ensuring near-zero transmission of infection.

    3. Mr Srinivas Chari of Seragen Private Limited, for innovating fertility therapeutics that helps couples with fastest path to pregnancy providing affordable, point of care solutions.


    Leave a Reply