APN News

  • Thursday, August, 2022| Today's Market | Current Time: 11:43:07
  • EFLI continues to uncover India’s talent

    Published on September 7, 2011

    by NR INDRAN / INT

    MUMBAI : Elite Football League of India (EFLI) is proud to announce the launch of its orientation program for athletes in Jaipur, Jalandhar, Chennai and Bangalore. Based on the number of pre-signed candidates, the EFLI is expecting a record-breaking turnout once again.

    These orientation programs conducted by EFLI will play a dual role. They aim at training athletes on the game itself and simultaneously open the doors of employment thereby motivating them to take up American football as a full time career option.

    Speaking about this development, Mr. Richard Whelan, CEO, EFLI said, “I’m overwhelmed and excited by the expected turnout of more than 5000 candidates. I am so pleased to sign on so many of India’s elite athletes. It is heart-warming to see so many gifted athletes, many of who travel from far reaching rural areas to be a part of this new initiative. I have such respect for these young men. The response to the EFLI has simply been extremely positive and encouraging thanks largely to these outstanding athletes. The whole process has been a lot of fun.伩>

    The schedule of the orientation programme is as follows:-

    1. Jaipur

    Venue: Sawai Mansing Stadium, Jaipur

    Date: 5th – 10th September 2011

    3. Chennai

    Venue: YMCA Hostel, aChennai

    Date: 19th – 24th September 2011

    2. Jalandhar

    Venue: DAV College, Jalandhar

    Date: 12th – 17th September 2011

    4. Bangalore

    Venue: Kanteerava Stadium, Bangalore

    Date: 26th September – 1st October 2011

    The ELFI is India’s first professional American-style football league, launched on August 5, 2011. The aim of the league is to introduce American-style football to the Indian market and its large consumer base. The inaugural season of the EFLI will be played from November 2012 through to February 2013.The first season of EFLI will be held at a custom-fit stadium in Pune between eight teams from Delhi, Mumbai, Goa, Bhubaneswar, Delhi, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Punjab and hosts Pune.

    You can contact the Author at [email protected]


    Leave a Reply