APN News

  • Sunday, September, 2022| Today's Market | Current Time: 07:31:30
  • GADRE GASPAR DIAS OPEN 2022: Ashutosh Pednekar, Bhushan Akut & Manoj Chandiramani reign supreme

    Published on March 29, 2022

    PANAJI:  Ashutosh Pednekar, Bhushan Akut, and Manoj Chandiramani won their respective age-group singles events in the Veterans category, but Ashutosh’s bid for a double crown was unsuccessful as he and Rajesh D’Souza went down fighting to Sheetal Bhosale-Prithviraj Ingale combo in the doubles finals of the ongoing Gadre Gaspar Dias Open 2022 tennis championships being played at the Clube Tennis de Gaspar Dias courts-Miramar and at Panjim Gymkhana.

    The annual tennis tournament by Clube Tennis de Gaspar Dias, Goa’s first tennis club, is being organized under the aegis of the Goa State  Tennis Association (GSTA), with support from Gadre Group.
    In the 45+ singles final, Ashutosh Pednekar brushed aside the challenge from Suresh Paul in straight sets 6-3, 6-4. The result in the 90+ doubles final, however, did not go in his favour as Sheetal Bhosale-Prithviraj Ingale duo held their nerve to score a thrilling 4-6,7-5,10-8 victory over Ashutosh-Rajesh.

    Bhushan Akut got the better of Ramesh R.N 7-6,5-7,10-7 in another closely-contested final, for the 55+ men’s singles title. In the 60+ final, Manoj Chandiramani cruised past Rafik Khotu 6-4, 6-2. Manoj thus bagged a double crown as he had earlier pocketed the 120+ doubles title in the company of Ajit Bhardwaj beating RN Ramesh-Ramaswami Balasubramanian6-1, 6-4.

    Gadre Gaspar Dias Open 2022 tennis championships have prizes amounting to INR 1,55,000. With the veteran’s events coming to a conclusion, Monday marked the beginning of the men’s singles event. Here are the results: Pankaj Gaikwad beat Sanket Gaikwad 6-3, Sameer Kakodkar beat Nikhil Menezes 6-0, Arshad Desai beat Adarsh M 6-4, Arshad Desai beat Dmitry Smirnov 6-1, Saif Hakim beat  Laxman Iyer 6-0, Shiva beat Vikram Gupta 6-3, Prajot beat Yash Khade 6-0, Ashwin Narsingani beat Arup Angle 6-3, Anant Kochhar beat Aditya Chowhan 6-3, Omkar Islampure beat Pranav Desurkar 6-0, Atharva Paranjape beat Anuj Rakyan 7-6(5); Stendhal Pereira beat Bhargav Patil 7-5, Jaiwin Ranjit beat Shivam Bapat 7-6,7-5.


    Leave a Reply