APN News

  • Wednesday, February, 2023| Today's Market | Current Time: 04:05:48
  • HC stays disqualification 14 dissident Cong MLAs of Arunachal

    Published on January 6, 2016

    Guwahati:  Guwahati High Court  on Tuesday  stayed the disqualification of 14 dissident Congress MLAs from Arunachal Pradesh Assembly by Speaker Nabam Rebia during the state’s political crisis last month. Justice BK Sharma, hearing a writ petition, stayed the speaker’s order disqualifying the MLAs on December 15 and issued notice to the respondents. He fixed January 7 as the next date of hearing.

    The writ was filed by dissident Congress MLAs Pema Khandu and 13 of his colleagues, who were disqualified by Mr Rebia under 10th Schedule of Constitution. They contended that the order of disqualification was passed by the speaker in violation of natural justice without giving them an opportunity of hearing.

    A political crisis was triggered in Arunachal Pradesh in December with 21 of the 47 Congress MLAs in the 60-member house, along with 11 BJP and two Independent MLAs, extending support to dissident Congress leader Kalikho Pul.


    Leave a Reply