APN News

  • Sunday, August, 2019| Today's Market | Current Time: 07:57:55
  • India score maiden T-20 win in New Zealand beating hosts by seven wickets

    Published on February 8, 2019

    In Cricket, India today bounced back with a clinical performance in the second T20 International against New Zealand at Auckland. Stand-in Skipper Rohit Sharma after becoming the leading run-scorer in the T20 International, led India from the front as they defeated hosts by seven wickets to level the three-match series 1-1. Rohit made a whirlwind fifty off 29 balls.

    Rohit with 2,288 runs, overtook Martin Guptill, who has 2,272 runs, to become the leading run-scorer in the shortest format of the game and broke several other records during his knock. With 20 fifty-plus scores in T20s, Rohit Sharma now also holds the record for most such scores in T20s. His fifty in the second T20 helped him go past Virat Kohli, who has 19.

    Shikhar Dhawan made 30 off 31 balls. Rishabh Pant was unbeaten on 40 with M.S. Dhoni not out on 20 as India chased down the 159-run target with seven balls to spare. Earlier, Colin de Grandhomme made 50 as New Zealand managed to score 158 for eight in their allotted 20 overs after opting to bat.

    Krunal Pandya who claimed three New Zealand’s wickets was declared Player of the Match. The third and final T20 will be played in Hamilton on Sunday.