APN News

  • Thursday, August, 2020| Today's Market | Current Time: 10:36:51
  • Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa to seek vote of confidence today

    Published on July 29, 2019

    BJP government in Karnataka will seek vote of confidence on the floor of the legislative Assembly today. Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa, who was sworn in on Friday, has expressed confidence that his government will win the trust vote with the support of 105 BJP MLAs in a reduced House strength of 208. Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar disqualified 14 rebel MLAs from Congress and JD(S) yesterday under anti defection law. He had earlier disqualified three other MLAs under the law. With the disqualification of 17 MLAs from Congress and JD(S) the magic number for simple majority is 105. A lone Independent MLA has extended support to BJP. One MLA from BSP is yet to make his stance clear.

    The House will meet at 11 AM. It will take up the floor test and then pass the appropriation bill. Legislative Council will also pass the bill today. The demand of grants to various government departments can be released only if the bill is passed by the end of this month. All disqualified rebel MLAs will move Supreme Court today challenging the Speaker’s decision.Congress legislative party is scheduled to meet this morning.

    Ruling BJP has issued a whip to all its 105 legislators to attend the Assembly today when the trust vote will be moved by Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa for proving majority. BJP spokesman G. Madhusudan said Bengaluru that all MLAs have been asked to be present in the Assembly by 11 AM.

    AIR correspondent reports that the BJP party MLAs stationed in a resort will go to the House together. The party has issued a whip that all the members should be present in the House today and vote in favour of the motion. The Congress is holding its legislative Party meeting today morning before the session. JD(S) leader Deve Gowda has said that they will play the role of constructive opposition in the House. He noted that if there is consensus in the House, they will vote in favour of the Finance bill.