APN News

  • Sunday, January, 2023| Today's Market | Current Time: 12:53:26
  • Next story:

    Kerala CPI(M) MLA resigns

    Published on March 9, 2012

    Thiruvananthapuram : In Kerala, CPI(M) MLA, R. Selvaraj representing Neyyatinkara Constituency in Thiruvananthapuram has resigned today. Assembly speaker G. Karthikeyan has accepted the resignation. Surprised by the unexpected resignation CPM has ousted Mr. Selvaraj from the party and blamed horse trading by ruling UDF.

    The sudden decision by the disgruntled CPI(M) MLA to resign from the Kerala Assembly will be a shot in the arm for the ruling UDF regime and blow to the LDF opposition. In the last assembly election, the UDF has formed the government with a wafer thin majority in Kerala. UDF has 71 and CPI(M) led opposition has 67 members in the 140 member state assembly at present.

    Hardly a week to go for Piravom by-election, UDF is in a jubilant mood on today’s development.


    Leave a Reply