APN News

  • Monday, June, 2019| Today's Market | Current Time: 08:56:08
  • The General Elections 2019 will be held in seven phases beginning from 11 April to 19 May.

    The first phase of elections will be held on the 11th of next month, the second phase on 18th of April, and third on the 23rd of April.

    The fourth phase of Lok Sabha elections will be held on the 29th of April, fifth on the 6th of May, sixth phase on the 12th of May. 19th May is the date for the last phase of Lok Sabha polls.

    The counting will be held on 23rd of May.

    Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora announced the poll schedule in New Delhi on Sunday evening.

    Karnataka, Manipur, Rajasthan, Tripura will go to polls in two phases. States undergoing three phases are Assam and Chhattisgarh, and four phases are Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra and Odisha.

    Jammu and Kashmir will have five phases and West Bengal, Bihar and Uttar Pradesh will have seven phases.

    The model code of conduct has come into force in the entire country with the announcement of the poll schedule.

    The Chief Election Commissioner said assessment meetings with states and Union Territories were held in January. He said extensive preparations have been made for the 17th Lok Sabha polls.

    The term of the present Lok Sabha ends on 3rd of June. In 2014, the Commission had announced the schedule on 5th of March to hold the nine-phase election.