APN News

  • Thursday, June, 2024| Today's Market | Current Time: 05:23:34
  • Moderate to brisk polling is being reported from different constituencies in the third phase of Lok Sabha elections today. Ninety three Parliamentary Constituencies spread over ten States and one Union Territory are being covered in this phase. These include, twenty five seats in Gujarat, 14 in Karnataka, 11 in Maharashtra and 10 seats in Uttar Pradesh. Besides, voting is also taking place on nine seats in Madhya Pradesh, seven in Chhattisgarh, five in Bihar, four seats each in Assam and West Bengal, two seats each in Goa and the Union Territory of Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu.

    Voting started in most of the constituencies at 7 this morning and will conclude at 6 in the evening. However, timings vary in North Eastern States and Left-Wing Extremism-affected areas.

     The polling is also being held for the Betul (ST) Parliamentary Constituency of Madhya Pradesh, in this phase. At this seat voting was earlier scheduled to be held in the second phase but was rescheduled due to the demise of the BSP candidate.

     The polling for Anantnag-Rajouri Parliamentary Constituency in Jammu and Kashmir, which was earlier scheduled in third phase, will now be held in the Sixth phase. Besides, there will also be no polling in Surat Parliamentary Constituency of Gujarat, as the BJP candidate has already been elected unopposed.

     Our correspondents touring different constituencies report long queues of voters at different polling booths. Special enthusiasm is seen among youth and women voters.

     A total of one thousand 331 candidates are in the fray in this phase.

     Some of the prominent candidates whose political fate is being sealed in the EVMs today include Senior BJP leaders Amit Shah, Mansukh Mandaviya, Jyotiraditya Scindia, Pralhad Joshi, Shivraj Singh Chouhan and Basavaraj Bommai, Congress leader Digvijay Singh, Samajwadi Party leader Dimple Yadav and NCP (Sharad Pawar faction) leader Supriya Sule.

      Around 18 lakh 50 thousand Polling officials have been deployed across across one lakh 85 thousand polling stations. Over 17 crore voters are eligible to exercise their franchise in this phase. A large number of foreign delegates have also come to witness India’s polling process and its management. 75 delegates from 23 countries are visiting polling stations in six states, as part of the International Election Visitor Programme.

     The Election Commission has made all arrangements for the smooth conduct of polling. Facilities like water, sheds, ramps, volunteers and wheelchairs are available at the polling stations for the convenience of voters.


    Leave a Reply