APN News

  • Thursday, March, 2020| Today's Market | Current Time: 08:25:24
  • P V Sindhu wins third successive ESPN’s Female Sportsperson of the Year award

    Published on February 20, 2020

    World champion shuttler P V Sindhu today won the ESPN’s Female Sportsperson of the Year award for a third consecutive time while young shooter Saurabh Chaudhary bagged the honour in the male category.

    Sprinter Dutee Chand became the first winner of the Courage award for being inspirational both on and off the field. Ace chess player Koneru Humpy won the award for the Comeback of the Year. Wrestler Deepak Punia bagged coveted ESPN’s Emerging Sports Person of the Year award.

    Chief National Badminton Coach Pullela Gopichand  claimed the Coach of the Year award, for nurturing two Olympic medalists in Saina Nehwal and Sindhu. Sindhu’s World Championship win, the first by an Indian in badminton, has also been selected as the Moment of the Year.

    Manu Bhaker-Saurabh Chaudhary grabbed the Team of the Year honour. Manasi Joshi won Differently-abled Athlete of the Year/Para-Athlete of the Year award.  Hockey legend Balbir Singh Senior, one of independent India’s most celebrated Olympians, has been conferred with ESPN’s Lifetime Achievement award. ESPN Multi-Sport Awards recognized achievements across 10 categories.