APN News

  • Wednesday, August, 2022| Today's Market | Current Time: 08:16:20
  • PM Modi confers Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prizes for Science & Tech

    Published on February 28, 2019

    Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Thursday stressed the need to connect people with innovation, science and technology.

    He was speaking after giving away the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prizes for Science and Technology for the years 2016, 2017 and 2018 in New Delhi.

    He also called for joining the benefits of research and developments with the common man of the country. He said that Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prizes are given away on the occasion of National Science Day which is celebrated on 28th of February every year. Mr Modi said the theme for this year’s National Science Day, which is, Science For Society and Society For Science is very relevant.

    He added that India is the fastest growing economy in the world and as such, scientific institutions should develop themselves as per future needs.

    The Prime Minister said, currently, Indian manufactured medicines are being exported to over 200 countries. He said, there is need to promote pharma and Biotechnology sector. Mr Modi also stressed that scientists can rise above limited resources with will power. He gave the example of India’s space programme and Mangalyaan.

    Our correspondent reports, eleven scientists were given the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for 2016. The awardees include Dr Rishikesh Narayan of Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru and Dr Amalendu Krishna of Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai.

    Among the ten scientists who got the prize for 2017 are Dr Deepak Gaur of Jawaharlal Nehru University, Delhi and Dr S Suresh Babu of Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre. There were thirteen prize winners for 2018. They include Dr Amit Kumar of IIT, Delhi and Dr Nitin Saxena, IIT, Kanpur.

    The Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize is the most coveted national recognition bestowed upon young scientists and engineers to honour their research and developmental work in India. It was first instituted in 1957 to honour the eminent scientist Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar who was also the founder Director and the chief architect of Council of Scientific and Industrial Research, CSIR.

    It is awarded annually for notable and outstanding research, applied or fundamental, in Biological Sciences, Chemical Sciences, Earth, Atmosphere, Engineering Sciences, Mathematical Sciences, Medical Sciences and Physical Sciences.


    Leave a Reply