APN News

  • Thursday, August, 2022| Today's Market | Current Time: 10:11:00
  • Polling in progress for 4th phase of Assembly elections in UP

    Published on February 23, 2017

    pollLucknow : Polling is underway for the fourth phase of Assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh. Voting is taking place for 53 seats spread over 12 districts of eastern UP and Bundelkhand region. These districts are Allahabad, Chitrakoot, Banda, Fatehpur, Hamirpur, Jalaun, Jhansi, Kaushambi, Lalitpur, Mahoba, Pratapgarh and Raebareli. Voting, which began at 7 AM, will end at 5 PM.

    BJP is contesting 48 seats out of 53. It has left 6 seats for its ally Apana Dal. BSP has fielded its nominees in all segments, while SP is contesting 30 seats and its ally Congress 25 as the two parties failed to agree on certain seats.

    Elaborate arrangements have been made to ensure free and fair polling. Inter district and inter state borders have been sealed. Patrolling by security forces has been intensified in poll bound areas. Most of the polling centres are manned by Central Para Military Forces.


    Leave a Reply