APN News

  • Wednesday, August, 2019| Today's Market | Current Time: 06:07:41
  • Portfolios have been announced for new Union Council of Ministers. BJP President Amit Shah will be the new Home Minister while Rajnath Singh has been given the charge of Defence Ministry.

    Nirmala Sitharaman will look after Finance and Corporate Affairs. Former Foreign Secretary S. Jaishankar will be the External Affairs Minister. President Ram Nath Kovind has directed the allocation of portfolios as advised by the Prime Minister. Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank is the new Human Resources Development Minister.

    Nitin Gadkari is the Minister of Road Transport and Highways and Minister of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises.

    Dr Harsh Vardhan will look after Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Science and Technology and Earth Sciences. Prakash Javadekar goes back to the Environment Ministry and will also look after Information and Broadcasting Ministry.

    Piyush Goyal will retain Ministry of Railways. He will also look after Commerce and industry Ministry. Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi retains Minority Affairs. Prime Minister Narendra Modi will retain Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions, Department of Atomic Energy and Department of Space.

    Narendra Singh Tomar is the new Minister of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare. He will also look after Rural Development and Panchayat Raj Ministries. Ravi Shankar Prasad will look after Ministries of Law and Justice, Communications and Electronics and Information Technology.

    Smriti Irani is the new Women and Child Development Minister and will also take the charge of Textiles Ministry. Arjun Munda will look after Ministry of Tribal Affairs. Pralhad Joshi has been given the charge of Ministries of Parliamentary Affairs, Coal and Mines.

    Dhramendra Pradhan retains Petroleum and Natural Gas Ministry. He will also look after Steel Ministry. Giriraj Singh is the new Minister for Animal Husbandry, Dairying and Fisheries.

    Gajendra Singh Shekhawat is the Minister of Jal Shakti. Ramvilas Paswan is the Minister of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution.

    The Ministers of State with Independent Charge are Kiren Rijiju, Hardeep Singh Puri, Santosh Kumar Gangwar, Rao Inderjit Singh, Shripad Yesso Naik, Dr. Jitendra Singh, Prahalad Singh Patel, Raj Kumar Singh and Mansukh L. Mandaviya.