APN News

  • Sunday, January, 2022| Today's Market | Current Time: 03:59:57
  • Puducherry CM V Narayanasamy wins Nellithope by-poll

    Published on November 22, 2016


    Puduchery: In Puducherry, Chief Minister and Congress candidate V Narayanasamy has won the Nellithope by-poll with a margin of 11,144 votes and secured 18709 votes, while his nearest rival and AIADMK candidate Om Sakthi Sekar could muster only 7565 votes. None among the other six candidates could claim more than a two digit figure.

    Chief Minister Narayanasamy bagged the Nellithoppe Assembly seat with a thumping majority. Narayanasamy who was not a member of the Puducherry Territorial Assembly was sworn as Chief Minister in June last. Congress high command favoured Narayanasamy for the post as there were more than two contenders. In a fiercely contested election, Narayanasamy’s main election plank was his achievements in the last five months as Chief Minister.

    It was projected that his long experience in government and his relationships cutting across party lines would help in the Union Territory’s progress. Narayanasamy represented the Union Territory in Rajya Sabha for three terms and Lok Sabha for a term. He held various offices in party and Government. Narayanasamy was Minister of State in Prime Ministers Office in UPA II.