APN News

  • Monday, February, 2019| Today's Market | Current Time: 05:38:18
  • Hyderabad: The three day Telangana State Regatta concluded here in the city Yacht Club at Sanjeevaiah Park.


    Chiranjeevulu, Metropolitan Commissioner gave away prizes to the winners in a function held at Yacht Club Premises this evening. 


    Speaking on the occasion he said Yacht Club is doing a very good job by helping less privileged earn dignity through sports. Sailing is not easy. I am amazed the way Young boys and girls are sailing and enjoying. We must be proud to have Lake in the middle of the city. More and more boys must get into sailing said Chiranjeevulu. 


    Suheim Sheikh, Founder of Yatch Club, Brig Redd Jagdish Sing,GS Julka, Shrikanth, RANGA Rao, Dadi Bhot, Sunil Lobo, Gopi Ram graced the prize distribution ceremony. 


    Three girls made big. They are Lalitha Majji, Tungara Mahboobee, 

    Lamshmi Nookarathnam  from Government School Marredpally are now the Telangana State Sailing Champions. These three girls Parents are Bricklayer, Watchman and Centring expert


    Lalitha also won the overall silver in the open.


    Sub Junior Optimist Green Fleet category Chalimilla Gnapika emerged Champion in 3 categories—Open Sub Junior, State Sub Junior Girls and State Sub Junior.  Akshay Vincent was Open Sub Junior Champion and bagged overall trophy for Telangana state.  


    In Senior Standard category Sachin Singha emerged Champion and walked away with Open Senior Champion Trophy. 


    In Youth section Satish Yadav and Rishab Nayar emerged Champions. 


    In Junior Category Nitya Balachander; K. Goutham(won two trophies) Juhi Desai


    In Sub Junior Optimist Main Fleet, Majji Lalitha walked away with three championships—Open Sub Junior Girls, State Sub Junior Girls and State Sub Junior. Chunnu walked away with Open Sub Junior Champion Trophy. 


    A record number of 150 sailors across five categories participated in the event. 


    Telangana competed with 65 participants, the biggest ever so far.