APN News

  • Wednesday, March, 2023| Today's Market | Current Time: 10:02:07
  • Previous story:

    TIMES NOW and ICICI Bank felicitates Indians across the world with 2nd ‘NRI of the Year’ Awards

    Published on April 14, 2015

    Mumbai :  TIMES NOW India’s No. 1 news channel and ICICI Bank, India’s largest private Shah Rukh Khan_India’s Global Iconsector bank, celebrated the success and achievements of Indians across the world with the announcement of the winners of 2nd TIMES NOW ICICI Bank ‘NRI of the Year’ awards, powered by Global Indian International School (GIIS).The ceremony was graced by the presence of Bollywood star Shah Rukh Khan and other dignitaries. In this awards ceremony, Mr. Shah Rukh Khan was felicitated with India’s Global Icon Award.

    The second edition of the TIMES NOW ICICI Bank NRI of the Year awards powered by Global Indian International School was awarded to 16 individuals under 7 different categories – Entrepreneur, Professional, Academics, Art & Culture, Philanthropy, Special Jury Award, and India’s Global Icon Award. The achievers are contestants from 4 regions – North America, UK, Middle-East & ASIA PACIFIC.

    On this occasion Ms. Chanda Kochhar, MD & CEO, ICICI Bank said, “ICICI Bank is happy to present the second edition of ‘TIMES NOW ICICI Bank NRI of the Year’ awards. The overwhelming response that we received last year has inspired us to reach out to more NRIs across the globe and make this event even bigger. We have been serving the NRI community for more than a decade. These awards give us the opportunity to honour members of the NRI community and felicitate them for their outstanding achievements.

    M.K. Anand, CEO and MD, Times Network, said “Times Network informs, entertains and engages over 100 million urban affluent viewers in India and is available in 76 countries across Winnersthe globe. Our channels are known for their high quality of programming and audiences in all the markets they serve. NRIs are a very important audience for the content we create.”

    Naveen Chandra, Head- International Business, Times Network added, “The NRI of the Year awards is the most distinctive awards for Indians globally and we have received an overwhelming 30,000 registrations online and the multiple Jury rounds ensure the winners are high quality. Among the winners this year are Senators, winners of the Pravasiya Bharati Award, CEOs of global banks, and some very rich and accomplished Indians; with the youngest winner being 14 years while the oldest is 83 years. We hope to build this further into more markets and reaching out to more accomplished Indian Diaspora”

    List of Winners 2015


    Name of the Winner


    India’s Global Icon

    Shah Rukh Khan


    Special Jury Award

    Satya Nadella

    North America


    Vallamkonda Nagamani Teja

    Asia Pacific

    Kehkashan Maushum Basu

    Middle East

    Sarthak Sinha

    North America


    Anju Jaswal

    Asia Pacific

    Dr. Rahavan Seetharaman

    Middle East

    Subhash Chandra Basu

    North America

    Gaurav Atreja

    United Kingdom


    Bharat Kumar Jayantilal

    Middle East

    Dr. Asha Seth

    North America

    Manjit Singh Nijjar

    United Kingdom

    Art & Culture

    Tripti Mukherjee

    North America


    Harindarpal Singh Banga

    Asia Pacific

    Arun Agarwal

    North America

    Dr. Ravi Pillai

    Middle East


    With their grit and perseverance, Non Resident Indians have achieved tremendous success in various fields in the countries they have chosen to adopt as their homes. Many NRIs are accomplished politicians, scientists, sportsmen, businessmen, professionals and academicians in various countries and TIMES NOW ICICI Bank ‘NRI of the Year’ awards recognize the success of these achievers. The event was attended by a distinguished audience of Government Officials, Bollywood Stars, the winners of Femina Miss India 2015, CEO’s & Business owners.




    Leave a Reply