APN News

  • Thursday, August, 2022| Today's Market | Current Time: 11:16:56
  • U R Rao joins Satellite Hall of Fame

    Published on January 20, 2013

    Former ISRO Chairman Prof U R Rao is joining the highly prestigious ‘Satellite Hall of Fame’ in Washington. The rare honour of Space Scientists was bestowed on him by the Society of Satellite Professionals International. It has also extended its membership to him.

    An ISRO Press release issued in Bangalore says that the Hall of Fame recognises the invaluable contribution of the visionaries who have transformed life for the better on planet earth through satellite technology.

    Over 40 illustrious Space scientists inducted into the Hall of Fame. They include Sir Arthur C Clarke, Dr James Van Allen, Dr William Pritchard, Dr Harold Rosen, Dr Fredric d’Allest, Dr Takayashi Yoshida, Dr Peter Jackson and Dr Olof Lundberg.

    They are considered as pioneers in the areas of communications, satellite related aerospace scientific research and development and delivery of applications for business, institutions and government via satellite.

    The induction of Prof Rao into the Satellite Hall of Fame will take place on March 19 this year at a gala function to be held in Washington,D.C.


    Leave a Reply