APN News

  • Monday, March, 2020| Today's Market | Current Time: 08:02:20
  • Uddhav Thackeray to take oath as Maharashtra CM this evening

    Published on November 28, 2019

    Shiv Sena President and Maharashtra Vikas Aghadi (MVA) nominee Uddhav Thackeray will take oath as the next Chief Minister of Maharashtra this evening.

    The swearing-in ceremony will be held at Shivaji Park in Central Mumbai. Mr Thackeray will head the Shiv Sena-NCP-Congress alliance government.

    The Shiv Sena has 56 MLAs, NCP 54 and Congress 44 in the 288-member Assembly in the state. Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari has given Uddhav Thackeray seven days’ time till the 3rd of December to prove his majority on the floor of the House.

    Uddhav is the first from the Thackeray family to hold the Chief Minister’s office.

    Political leaders cutting across party line, celebrities, businessmen and industrialists are expected to witness the oath-taking ceremony. The Sena has also invited nearly 400 farmers for the ceremony.