APN News

  • Sunday, October, 2019| Today's Market | Current Time: 12:18:14
  • Voting ends for 6th phase of Lok Sabha elections

    Published on May 12, 2019

    Polling was held today in 59 constituencies, spread over seven states, in the sixth phase of Lok Sabha elections.

    Around 60 per cent voting has been recorded so far. According to the Election Commission, till 5.30 PM, West Bengal recorded 79.92 per cent, Jharkhand 65.17, Madhya Pradesh 59.96, Haryana 62.10, Bihar 55.04, Uttar Pradesh 50.62, and Delhi 54.88.

    Polling took place for 14 seats in Uttar Pradesh; all 10 seats in Haryana; eight each in West Bengal, Bihar and Madhya Pradesh; all seven in Delhi and four in Jharkhand.

    Prominent candidates in this phase include Union Ministers – Radha Mohan Singh, Harsh Vardhan, Maneka Gandhi, Narendra Singh Tomar and Rao Inderjit Singh.

    The fate of cricketer-turned-politician Gautam Gambhir, Delhi BJP President Manoj Tiwari, Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur, Congress leaders – Sheila Dikshit, Jyotiraditya Scindia, Digvijaya Singh and Bhupinder Singh Hooda, boxer Vijender Singh, and SP President Akhilesh Yadav are being decided in this phase.

    In West Bengal, stray incidents of violence were reported during polling.

    The News Services Division of All India Radio will bring you a special programme on “Overall Analysis of Sixth Phase of Polling”. Tune into FM Gold Channel of AIR at 9.15 tonight to listen to this special discussion.