APN News

  • Thursday, July, 2020| Today's Market | Current Time: 05:30:52
  • Wonderla Holidays announced winners of Environment and Energy Conservation Awards 2019

    Published on March 6, 2020

    Hyderabad : Wonderla Holidays announced the winners of “Wonderla Environment & Energy Conservation Awards – 2019” for schools across Telangana, Andhra Pradesh and North Karnataka. The awards were presented to the winners by Divine Miss Earth India 2019 Ms. Tajaswini Manogna – in the presence of Wonderla Holidays Director, Mr. Arun K Chittilappilly , President , Shri. Sivadas M and Park Head, Shri. Madhusudhan Gutta at the function held in Wonderla Hyderabad on Friday, 6th March 2020.


    WEECA – “Wonderla Environment & Energy Conservation Awards” is an annual property of Wonderla Holidays to acknowledge and reward schools, that have adopted the most innovative and effective practices to conserve and manage natural resources in their premises and to create awareness about the environment in younger minds and encourage them to ‘Go Green’.


    The 1st prize winner Shree Swaminarayan Gurukul, Hyderabad was awarded a cash prize of Rs. 50,000/-. Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan’s Public School, Hyderabad and V.S. St John’s Hr Sec School, Krishna Dist shared the 2nd position and were awarded Rs. 25,000/- each. Bhashyam Blooms Boys Residential School (Hyderabad) Appa Public School (Kalaburagi) and Viswasanthi English Medium High School (Krishna Dist) who shared the third position were awarded a cash prize of Rs. 15,000/- each. Apart from the cash prize, the winners were also awarded with a ‘Trophy’ and ‘Certificate of Appreciation’. In addition, Wonderla also gave away special recognition awards to 30 other schools across Telangana, AP & North Karnataka.


    From this edition of the awards, in addition to the awards given to schools, the teachers who undertook initiatives and supports students in implementing various environment and energy conservation activities in schools were recognized and facilitated Mr.Mupparapu Narendhar Kumar from MPPS Suryatanda, Suryapet won the first prize in this category, followed by Mr. Syed Khadar Basha from ,Army Public School, Hyderabad, at second place and Mr. Buruga Praveen Pal from V.S. St John’s Hr Sec School, Krishna Dist at third place. The first, second and third place winners were awarded a cash prize of Rs. 20,000, Rs. 15,000 and Rs. 10,000 respectively along with Trophy & Certificate of Appreciation


    This third consecutive year of “Wonderla Environment & Energy Conservation Awards” contest and received a remarkable participation from 146 schools from Telangana, AP & North Karnataka. The short listing of nominations was based on a complete audit of the schools’ overall environmental practices carried out by its management and students. Wonderla has been ISO 14001 certified for being environment friendly and conserving natural resources, and has taken up several ‘Go Green’ and ‘Save Nature’ initiatives in support of green movement.


    Speaking about the initiative, Director, Mr. Arun K Chittilappilly of Wonderla Holidays said, “Wonderla Environment & Energy Conservation Awards is very much in line with our brand’s objective to create a green world. The key objective of the award is to create awareness amongst the school children about the importance of nature and why it is critical to conserve and protect nature. The award was instituted to encourage schools to help and build a healthier environment through the involvement of students who can evolve to be green warriors in the future.”




    List of Schools that won the Consolation Prize

    S.No Name of the School Location
    1 Chavara Academy Adilabad
    2 Sri Rama Rural High School (E.M.) Guntur
    3 Army Public School Hyderabad
    4 Meridian School Hyderabad
    5 Oxford Grammar School Hyderabad
    6 Samashti International School Hyderabad
    7 Sri Saraswathi Sisu Mandir High School Hyderabad
    8 Shree Swaminarayan Gurukul Jadcherla
    9 Alphores e-Techno School Karimnagar
    10 Blooming minds Central School Khammam
    11 Kendriya Vidyalaya Khammam
    12 Sri Ushodaya Educational Institutions Krishna
    13 N.St.Mathew’s Public School Krishna
    14 The Athena School Kurnool
    15 CRR Secondary School Kurnool
    16 Fatima Vidyalayam Mahabubnagar
    17 Telangana model School Mancherial
    18 Geetha High School Medak
    19 The Jain International School Medak
    20 Geetanjali High School Medchal
    21 Hi-Tech Modern Residential High School Medchal
    22 St. Pious X School Medchal
    23 SPS High School Medchal
    24 SSR High School Medchal
    25 Niraj International School Medchal
    26 R.B.V.R.R. High School Nizamabad
    27 Rainbow International School Sangareddy
    28 St. Gabriel’s High School Warangal
    29 Ekashila Group Of Institutions Warangal
    30 Disney Land High School Warangal