APN News

  • Friday, October, 2020| Today's Market | Current Time: 06:25:02
  • Three Telugusappointed Honorary Board Members of three autonomous national bodies fordisabled by the Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment, Government of India.

    Published on September 17, 2020

    Hyderabad: Dr.G Veda Prakash, Orthopedic Surgeon; Dr. Nandini Bandikatla, a Consultant Child Psychologist; Kasinadh Lakkaraju, an entrepreneur, all three city-based professionals-cum-social workers, two doctors and a software consultant appointed as member in three different Union Government bodies. 

    Besides being professional in their chosen and respective fields, all these three are members of ‘SAKSHAM’ Samadrishti, Kshamata Vikas Evam Anusandhan Mandal, a charitable national organization with a major presence in Hyderabad. 

    It is a matter of great pride for Telugus as well as SAKSHAM for these three professionals cum social workers representing in three national organisations such as Swami Vivekananda National Institution of Rehabilitation, Training and Research, Cuttak; National Institute of Locomotor Disabilities(NILD), Kolkata and National Institute for Empowerment of Persons with Intellectual Disabilities(NIEPID), Hyderabad

    Swami Vivekanand National Institute of Rehabilitation Training and Research (S.V. NIRTAR) is an autonomous institute functioning under the Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment of India. It is the most prestigious institution in the field of rehabilitation

    Dr Veda Prakash is appointed as Member of Swami Vivekananda National Institution of Rehabilitation, Training and Research. He currently works as a Consultant Orthopedic and Trauma Surgeon at Yashoda Hospital in the city. Besides his medical practice, Dr Veda Prakash is active in social service. He regularly conducts free camps for patients with physical disabilities. He serves as President of Telangana State Unit of SAKSHAM.

    National Institute for the Empowerment of Persons with Intellectual Disabilities (Formerly National Institute for the Mentally Handicapped) is an Autonomous Body under the administrative control of Department of Empowerment of Persons with Disabilities (Divyangjan), Ministry of Social Justice & Empowerment, Government of India. NIEPID (Formely NIMH) is dedicated to providing quality services to Persons with Intellectual Disabilities (Divyangjan) in the National interest. 

    Dr. Nandini Bandikatla is appointed as a Honorary Board Member of National Institute for Empowerment of Persons with Intellectual Disabilities(NIEPID). She currently works as a Consultant Child Psychiatrist. She practices at several hospitals in the city including Apollo Hospitals, Jubilee Hills. She treats children with mental disorders like Autism, ADHD, ODD, CD Mood disorders and other psychotic and psychological disorders. She provides family counselling.

    The Institute National Institute for Locomotor Disabilities (Divyangjan) is an apex organization in the area of locomotor disability as an autonomous body under the Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment, Government of India. 

    Mr. Kasinadh Lakkaraju is constituted as a Member of National Institute of Locomotor Disabilities (NILD), Kolkatta. Shri Kasinadh Lakkaraju is a Social Worker and All India Vice-President of SAKSHAM.

    He is a Software Consultant with aagama.com, a software development organization based in Hyderabad. He is a Yoga Trainer at Vemana Yoga Research Institute at Hyderabad.. Yoga Therapist with Tranquilminds a Psychiatry specialist organization in Hyderabad. He is one of the founding members of SAKSHAM, dedicated to rehabilitation of differently-abled and prevention of disability.

    Responding to her appointment, Dr Nandini a Senior Psychiatrist who is also Advisor to SAKSHAM on Intellectual Disabilities said that she aspires to bring pertinent reforms and value additions needed in this most important area of Intellectual Disabilities.

    Dr Veda Prakash said he would like to play a catalyst role in improving the conditions for disabled persons. 

    All these three distinguished personnel will be in as Members for two-year term.