APN News

  • Wednesday, November, 2021| Today's Market | Current Time: 01:35:48
  • by Bhupen Goswami

    Guwahati : In Assam, bjp and its ally UPL won all five seats in assam bypoll after a tense battle for five seats. Bjp’s Sushanta Borgohen won the Thowra assembly seat by a margin of 30,561 votes. UPPL candidates Jiron Basumtari and Jolen Daimeri won gosaigaon and Tamulpur seats by a margin of over 28,252 and 50,000 votes respectively. Bjp candidate Fanidhar Talukdar won the Bhabanipur seat by a margin of 25,641 votes. BJP’s Rupjyoti Kurmi won the Mariani seat by a margin of 40,104 votes.

    Bhabanipur assembly seat recorded the highest voter turnout of 78 per cent. Ahead of the results, BJP candidate for Thowra Sushanta Borgohen has said that the people of the constituency tagged him as one. The Raijor party tried to create an atmosphere and portrayed me as a traitor to convert me from Congress to BJP. The party tagged me as a traitor but I am happy to see that the people of Thowra have considered me trustworthy, said Sushanta Borgohen. He said that we may have cheated but it was necessary for the progress of the people. Speaking on the elections, Rupjyoti Kurmi had earlier speculated that some of her enemies may have turned into well wishers for the decision taken by her after joining the ruling party. Gosaigaon recorded 77.37 per cent polling followed by Tamilpur with 67.88 per cent polling. Thora recorded 77.56 per cent polling and Mariani seat 71.70 per cent. Gosaigaon, Bhabhanipur, Tamulpur, Mariani and Thora assembly constituencies went to polls on October 30 with strict adherence to corona protocol.