APN News

  • Tuesday, June, 2024| Today's Market | Current Time: 10:46:14
  • Nitish Kumar to be CM of Bihar for 7th time; Newly-elected MLAs of NDA elect him as their leader in Patna

    Published on November 15, 2020

    Nitish Kumar will be the Chief Minister of Bihar for the seventh time. The JD (U) leader was today elected unanimously the leader of National Democratic Alliance. The decision was taken at a joint meeting of NDA in Patna. 

    Earlier, newly elected legislators of JDU elected him the leader of the party. The meeting was convened at the official residence of Chief Minister Nitish Kumar. After being elected as the NDA leader in Bihar, Mr Kumar said that he did not want to become the chief minister of the State but agreed to lead the NDA at the request of BJP. 

    The oath ceremony will take place tomorrow afternoon. Mr. Kumar along with his council of ministers will take oath of office and secrecy before the Governor Phagu Chauhan.

    Defence Minister Rajnath Singh was present in the joint meeting of NDA as the observer. He said that the name of Deputy CM will be decided after talks with elected legislators of BJP. Union Minister Nityanand Rai, Party incharge of Bihar Affairs Bhupendra Yadav, Election Incharge Devendra Fadnavis and Bihar BJP President Sanjay Jaiswal were also present in the meeting.

    Hindustani Awam Morcha, HAM President Jitan Ram Manjhi and Vikas sheel Insaan Party, VIP Chief Mukesh Sahni also attended the meeting.

    The legislators of all four NDA constituents – BJP, JD(U), Hindustani Awam Morcha and Vikassheel Insaan Party discussed the formation of a new government in the State. Earlier, newly elected MLAs of BJP elected Sushil Kumar Modi as leader of BJP legislature party.

    The NDA has secured an absolute majority by winning 125 seats in the recently held assembly elections. One independent MLA Sumit Sigh has also extended support to the NDA.


    Leave a Reply