APN News

  • Tuesday, September, 2020| Today's Market | Current Time: 07:04:43
  • Parliamentary proceedings begin; 15 newly elected MPs take oath in RS

    Published on September 14, 2020

    While adhering to social distancing norms amidst the COVID-19 pandemic, Rajya Sabha today took up business on the first day of Monsoon Session of Parliament. Fifteen newly elected MPs took oath. They include Shibu Soren of JMM, Zafar Islam of BJP, Dr K Keshav Rao of TRS, Tiruchi Siva of DMK, and Dinesh Trivedi of TMC.

    The House also paid obituary references to the passing away of former president and ex-member of the Upper House Pranab Mukherjee as well as three sitting MPs, Beni Prasad Verma, MP Veerendra Kumar and Amar Singh. The house also paid obituary to other former members who passed away recently.

    Later, the house was adjourned for one hour till 4:40 pm as a mark of respect to the departed leaders.